Lemon Olive Chicken

Again – no pic. cos this recipe was born before the blog….next time. Most of my recipes are for one person, if there’s any left over then that’s a bonus meal.  You may have to experiment with larger quantities if you want to make more. I remembered a recipe from the ’70’s that I loved, but hubby didn’t so I never made it again.  Should’ve – it’s awesome!

  • 2 chicken thighs
  • 12 green and 12 black (Kalamata) pitted olives
  • 1/2 cup continental parsley
  • 1 – 2 tBspns EVOO
  • about 1/8 to 1/4 slice of a lemon  – be cautious with this as you will need to taste the raw mix  (come on! it’s only olives parsley and lemon) BECAUSE – the cooked lemon rind can be quite strong.  Err on the side of less. Cut the rind off the lemon, cut away the pith from the fruit and discard the pith.  Keep the fruit and the rind.

Place the thighs (I use thighs as I prefer the meat over breast meat which I find tends to be too dry for me) in a microwave safe  (best to use pyrex or glass) container that has a lid. Place all other ingredients in the food processor and whiz until the mixture is well mixed and small-ish in size.  Taste for the lemon factor but remember it will increase with cooking and rind can become very bitter if you use too much. Press down the olive mixture over the chicken, covering well and put on the lid. Microwave for about 3 – 4 minutes. (I have a 1200W Microwave) Make SURE the chicken is thoroughly cooked.

Enjoy – especially the drizzled juice that develops.  (If I was fancy I’d call it a juz) I served mine with a beetroot and strawberry salad.

Note about food processors:  Use one that is NOT a blender.  It should be a food processor such as a Breville Kitchen Wiz and if you haven’t got one and you want to start making more and more of your own delicious food – get one.  Choose one with a powerful motor.  My Breville has been going strong since the early ’80’s and we paid around $150 for it then)

