Quick Sweet Potato Chips in the Breville sandwich grill

Quick Sweet Potato Chips in the Breville sandwich grill

 

Using a mandolin, slice the (peeled) sweet potato at the 1.5mm setting (ie very thin)
Oil the potatoes (I usually use coconut oil)

If you have a Breville or similar sandwich grill – use it on the lowest setting.  By that I’m talking about a FLAT one – not an actual shaped one for filling sandwiches.
If you don’t have one – you’re on your own.  I’ve tried doing these in the oven – they take hours.  In the sandwich press they take approximately 5 minutes per batch.
Watch carefully as they will burn very quickly.

PS My Breville is an older model so it doesn’t have flat both sides – but it still works well. Next one will be double flat sided.  In fact – this is where the dry fried onions came from for the banana onion fritters – I was trying to make onion chips – DER!!

